Minnesota election results: 2022 Midterms roundup

Minnesotans headed to the polls on Tuesday, November 8, to make their voices heard in the midterm election

Here's a look at what happened on Election Day. Election results can be found below, tap or click the link for more information.

Minnesota governor race: Walz re-elected governor

Gov. Tim Walz won re-election, defeating Republican challenger Scott Jensen, for a second term as Minnesota's governor. 

Here are the results: 

Jensen on Tuesday night told FOX 9's Paul Blume he will not concede – he wants all votes counted. But then after midnight Wednesday, Jensen's campaign took the stage and conceded. 

Most polls over the last year showed Walz with a significant advantage over Republican challenger Scott Jensen, even as, nationwide, many Democrats in the midterm elections were facing struggling poll numbers amid economic issues and public safety concerns – both of which were targets in ad campaigns in Minnesota.

Walz and Lt. Gov. Peggy Flanagan easily won their 2018 race by an 11-point margin. Jensen, who was joined by former Minnesota Viking Matt Birk as running mate in his campaign, quickly became the favorite to win the Republican nomination as he gained a national following from skepticism over COVID-19 vaccines and opposition to mask mandates – along with other debunked thinking.

Minnesota attorney general race: Ellison wins re-election

Attorney General Keith Ellison on Wednesday morning claimed victory, with results showing a lead of more than 20,000 votes over Republican challenger Jim Schultz. 

In a statement, Ellison said he's "grateful" for the win, adding: "But this election was tough. Millions of dollars were spent to sow division, hate, and fear. And we overcame it: we were positive, and Minnesotans responded."

A few hours later, Schultz conceded to Ellison. 

Going into Election Day, both candidates won their uncontested primary races in August. Republicans saw the Minnesota Attorney General’s races as their most winnable statewide election due to the fact during the 2018 election, Democrat Keith Ellison only won against GOP-endorsed candidate Doug Wardlow by 4 percentage points. 

However, polls in October showed a statistical tie between Ellison and Jim Schultz.

Minnesota 2nd Congressional District: Craig wins re-election

U.S. Rep. Angie Craig has won re-election, defeating Republican challenger Tyler Kistner. 

"It’s easy to feel that our nation has become too divided to move forward, but I am committed to working in Congress to bridge those divides, find common ground and do what’s best for Minnesota," Craig said in a statement early Wednesday. "From the bottom of my heart, thank you for your dedication and persistence – together, we will keep moving Minnesota forward."

 Here are the results. 

The race was a rematch between Craig, a Democrat, and Republican challenger Tyler Kistner. It was one of the country's most expensive congressional races in the country and the most expensive congressional race in Minnesota history. The polls were tight throughout the election cycle.

Secretary of State: Simon wins re-election

Secretary of State Steve Simon, a Democrat, has won re-election. 

Here are the results: 

Hennepin County Attorney: Mary Moriarty wins

Mary Moriarty, a former public defender, has defeated Martha Holton Dimick in the race for Hennepin County Attorney.

"I am deeply grateful to everyone who took the time to vote today and over the last six weeks," said Moriarty in her acceptance speech Tuesday night. "You, the voters, have spoken and are demanding better of our criminal legal system. This is our time to forge a new path forward: one that keeps our communities safe while ending the cycles of mass incarceration that have deeply harmed communities of color and broken up too many families."

Here are the results: 

Minnesota 2022 election results

Tap or click on the race below for individual results.

Minnesota Governor

U.S. House:

Minnesota Secretary of State

Minnesota Attorney General

Minnesota Auditor

Minnesota Senate: 

Minnesota House:

Anoka County Sheriff

Hennepin County Attorney

Hennepin County Sheriff

Twin Cities county attorneys

County Commissioners

School Boards

Ballot questions

Twin Cities mayors

Twin Cities city council