ELECTION RESULTS: 2022 Minnesota primary election results roundup

Minnesotans headed to the polls on Tuesday, Aug. 9, to make their voices heard in the primary election.

RELATED: Early voting tumbles ahead of Minnesota's primary Tuesday

On the ballot, there are statewide races, including U.S. representatives, governor and Minnesota representatives and senators, as well as local races, such as county and city officials. 

Here's a look at what happened on primary day, which set the stage for the November general election.

Minnesota primary election results

Results can be found above. At the bottom of the page, there are links to the major races in the state, with more information and results for each. Tap or click on the race below for additional information on each race.

U.S. House

Minnesota's Congressional Districts 1-8 held primaries on Tuesday, with many races going uncontested. 

In the First Congressional District primary, Jeff Ettinger, a former Hormel CEO, won the Democratic primary, with 91% of the vote, beating out two others. In the GOP primary, former Republican state Rep. Brad Finstad won with 77% of the vote, beating state Rep. Jeremy Munson, who secured 23% of the vote (with 54% of votes counted). 

In the Second Congressional District, U.S. Rep. Angie Craig secured the Democratic nomination after running uncontested. In the GOP primary, Tyler Kistner also ran unopposed, securing the nomination. Two-term U.S. Rep. Craig and Kistner will square off again in November.

In the Third Congressional District, Democrat U.S. Rep. Dean Phillips ran uncontested, as did GOP candidate Tom Weiler. 

U.S. Rep. Betty McCollum, who represents Minnesota's Fourth Congressional District, won her primary, security 84.1% of the vote as of 10 p.m. Tuesday with 26% of votes counted. In the GOP primary, a winner had not been declared as of 10:04 p.m.

In Minnesota's Fifth Congressional District, U.S. Rep. Ilhan Omar faced a stiff challenge from Don Samuels in a race where crime has emerged as the biggest issue. Samuels, a former Minneapolis City Council, opposed the movement to defund the police and last year helped defeat efforts to replace the city's police department. Omar did win the primary, with Samuels conceding the race. 

In the Sixth Congressional District, Jeanne Hendricks won the Democratic nomination in an uncontested race. U.S. Rep. Tom Emmer also ran unopposed.

U.S. Rep. Michelle Fischbach won the GOP nomination after running unopposed in the Seventh Congressional District. As of 10 p.m. Tuesday, the Democratic primary race hadn't been called but Jill Abahsain was leading with 60% of the vote (54% of votes had been counted).

And in the Eighth Congressional District, U.S. Rep. Pete Stauber won the GOP primary with 91% of the vote. In the Democratic primary, Jen Schultz won 84% of the vote. 

Congressional District 1 (Special Election)

Minnesotans living in the First Congressional District had a bit of a confusing ballot. There was the primary, but also a special election to finish out the late U.S. Rep. Jim Hagedorn's seat. Former Republican state Rep. Brad Finstad and Democrat Jeff Ettinger, a former Hormel CEO, simultaneously competed in the primary (they both won their respective races) and in that special election. 

The winner of the special election will represent the First Congressional District in southern Minnesota until January. Then the winner of the November matchup between Finstad and Ettinger will represent the district in Congress. 

As of 10:23 p.m., Finstad was leading with 56% of the vote to Ettinger's 41%, with just 21% of votes counted. The Minnesota Secretary of State had warned the results could be delayed. The latest results are below:


As expected, Gov. Tim Walz won the Democratic primary and challenger Dr. Scott Jensen won the Republican primary, setting the stage for the November election

Secretary of State

In the primaries for Secretary of State, incumbent Steve Simon won the Democratic primary with 73.8% of the vote to challenger Steve Carlson's 26.2%, with 48.5% of votes counted, The Associated Press called. 

Simon will square off against Republican Kim Crockett in November. Crockett won the GOP primary on Tuesday with 63.3% of the vote (with 64.4% of votes counted), beating challenger Erik van Mechelen.

Attorney General

Democrat incumbent Keith Ellison easily won the DFL primary, securing 89% of the vote with 52% of votes counted. Challenger Bill Dahn had 11% of the vote. 

As of 10:30 p.m. Tuesday, the GOP primary hadn't been called, with 72% of votes counted. GOP-endorsed candidate Jim Schultz was leading 2018 Attorney General candidate Doug Wardlow, with 53% of the vote to Wardlow's 34%. Sharon Anderson had won 12% of the vote. 


Incumbent Julie Blaha won the Democratic primary in a race that was uncontested. She will face Republican Ryan Wilson, who secured the GOP nomination in an uncontested race.

Hennepin County Attorney

The field of candidates for Hennepin County Attorney was packed, with seven candidates vying for the position in what's turned out to be a competitive race, especially as violent crime is top of mind for many who live in the state's populous county.

As of 10:30 p.m., DFL-endorsed Mary Moriarty, a former Hennepin County public defender, was leading with 36.4% of the vote. Martha Holton Dimick, a former judge, had 17.9% of the vote and House Majority Leader Ryan Winkler had 16.2% of the vote, with 389 of 397 precincts reporting. 

The top two vote-getters in this nonpartisan race will be on the ballot in November.

This is the first time the seat has been open in 24 years. 

Hennepin County Sheriff

In the race for Hennepin County Sheriff, as of 10:40 p.m., Dawanna Witt was leading with 57% of the vote (389 of 397 precincts reporting), followed by Joseph Banks with 22.43% of the vote, and Jai Hanson with 20.52% of the vote. The top two vote-getters in the nonpartisan race will be on the November ballot. 

Minnesota Senate

Minnesota House