Minnesota Primary Election results: US House

(Photo by Stephen Maturen/Getty Images)

There are eight Congressional Districts in Minnesota up for election this fall, and the Aug. 9 primary narrowed the field down to one candidate from each party per district. 

Many of Minnesota's Congressional Districts 1-8 primaries on Tuesday were uncontested. Here's a look at who won their primaries:

In the First Congressional District primary, Jeff Ettinger, a former Hormel CEO, won the Democratic primary, with 91% of the vote, beating out two others. In the GOP primary, former Republican state Rep. Brad Finstad won with 77% of the vote, beating state Rep. Jeremy Munson, who secured 23% of the vote (with 54% of votes counted). 

In the Second Congressional District, U.S. Rep. Angie Craig secured the Democratic nomination after running uncontested. In the GOP primary, Tyler Kistner also ran unopposed, securing the nomination. Two-term U.S. Rep. Craig and Kistner will square off again in November.

In the Third Congressional District, Democrat U.S. Rep. Dean Phillips ran uncontested, as did GOP candidate Tom Weiler. 

U.S. Rep. Betty McCollum, who represents Minnesota's Fourth Congressional District, won her primary, security 84.1% of the vote as of 10 p.m. Tuesday with 26% of votes counted. In the GOP primary, a winner had not been declared as of 10:04 p.m.

In Minnesota's Fifth Congressional District, U.S. Rep. Ilhan Omar faced a stiff challenge from Don Samuels in a race where crime has emerged as the biggest issue. Samuels, a former Minneapolis City Council, opposed the movement to defund the police and last year helped defeat efforts to replace the city's police department. Omar did win the primary, with Samuels conceding the race. 

In the Sixth Congressional District, Jeanne Hendricks won the Democratic nomination in an uncontested race. U.S. Rep. Tom Emmer also ran unopposed.

U.S. Rep. Michelle Fischbach won the GOP nomination after running unopposed in the Seventh Congressional District. As of 10 p.m. Tuesday, the Democratic primary race hadn't been called but Jill Abahsain was leading with 60% of the vote (54% of votes had been counted).

And in the Eighth Congressional District, U.S. Rep. Pete Stauber won the GOP primary with 91% of the vote. In the Democratic primary, Jen Schultz won 84% of the vote. 

Here are the results from the eight districts:

Additional details about other House races can be found below: 

Other primary election results: 


Secretary of State

Attorney General


Hennepin County Attorney

Minnesota Senate: 

Minnesota House: