Minnesota Primary Election results: Governor

Republican Dr. Scott Jensen (left) and Gov. Tim Walz.  (Supplied)

In the governor's race, Democratic Gov. Tim Walz and Republican challenger Dr. Scott Jensen won their primaries, as expected, setting the stage for the November general election.

The Associated Press called the races for Walz and Jensen about 30 minutes after the polls closed on Tuesday. 

Walz, as of 8:30 p.m., had 96.26% of the vote with 9% of precincts reporting as of 8:30 p.m., beating challenger Ole Savior of Minneapolis. 

Jensen., as of 8:30 p.m., had won 91.55% of the vote with 9% of the precincts reporting, beating challengers Joyce Lynn Lacey and Bob Carney Jr.

Walz is seeking his second term under the same "One Minnesota" slogan he used four years ago, but in an ever more polarized environment where Jensen and the GOP are seeking to turn his management of the pandemic against him. Both men easily overcome little-known or perennial candidates to formalize a race that's already been underway for months.

Minnesota primary election results

Tap or click on the race below for individual results.

U.S. House:


Secretary of State

Attorney General


Minnesota Senate: 

Minnesota House:

Hennepin County Attorney

The Associated Press contributed to this report.