St. Paul election results 2023: City Council races

In St. Paul, all seven wards were up for election. 

The city will have at least four new council members next year, with Council President Amy Brendmoen and council members Christ Tolbert and Jane Prince declining to run for re-election. Interim Ward 1 council member Russel Balenger, who replaced Dai Thao after his resignation last year, is also not on the ballot. Balenger had agreed not to run for re-election when he was chosen for the interim gig.

Three St. Paul races will be heading to a second count due to ranked choice voting, but the projected winners after the first round are:

  • Ward 2: Rebecca Noecker
  • Ward 4: Mitra Jalali
  • Ward 5: Hwa Jeong Kim
  • Ward 6: Nelsie Yang

The races in Wards 1, 3, and 7 did not meet the 50% plus one threshold and the winner will be determined on Friday. 

Here are the results for the St. Paul City Council races.

St. Paul City Council election results

Election results from around Minnesota