Brooklyn Center, other cities declare curfews Tuesday

Minnesota Governor Tim Walz said Tuesday he will not extend the four-county curfew implemented after the death of Daunte Wright. However, some cities have decided to implement another curfew, including Brooklyn Center, Minneapolis, Robbinsdale, Crystal and New Hope.

Minneapolis and Brooklyn Center are enforcing a curfew from 10 p.m. Tuesday to 6 a.m. Wednesday. Curfews in Robbinsdale, Crystal and New Hope also begin at 10 p.m. and end at 6 a.m. In Brooklyn Park, the curfew goes into effect at 8 p.m. and expires at 6 a.m. 

The Minneapolis curfew includes exemptions for credentialed members of the press, law enforcement, emergency responders, those traveling to and from work or religious services, and the following community patrol organizations: A Mother’s Love, Center for Multicultural Mediation, Native American Community Development Institute (NACDI), Corcoran Neighborhood Organization and T.O.U.C.H. Outreach, Change Equals Opportunity (C.E.O.), Restoration Inc., and We Push for Peace.  

Check with your city for more information on possible curfews.

Monday, Gov. Walz enforced a curfew for Hennepin, Ramsey, and Anoka counties - with Dakota County later joining in. The curfew ended at 6 a.m. Tuesday.

Several areas of the Twin Cities metro, particularly Brooklyn Center, responded to protests as well as violence and looting Sunday night and Monday night after the fatal police shooting of 20-year-old Daunte Wright.