Wisconsin to be added to Chicago's 14-day quarantine travel order, Lightfoot says

Mayor Lori Lightfoot has announced Wisconsin is being added to the list of states that fall under Chicago’s 14-day quarantine travel order.

Lightfoot made the announcement Monday afternoon during a press conference and said the addition of Wisconsin will take effect later this week.

The quarantine order now applies to anyone arriving in Chicago from 18 states. The states are: Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, California, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Iowa,  Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, Nevada, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah and Wisconsin.

Now, thousands of border crossers face a dilemma as Mayor Lightfoot is set to add Wisconsin to the list.

There are exceptions for essential workers and those traveling for medical reasons, but the commuters that FOX 32 talked to say it is going to create huge headaches.

"Now you're telling me I can't go there without 14 days quarantine, but I have to work too,” said Kenosha resident Lloyd Brady.

"Well that's the big question. I have to find out from my work how that's going to affect me and how it's going to affect them,” said commuter Tom Hansen.

It is also a potential problem for truck drivers who say the "Welcome to Wisconsin" sign is not being reciprocated heading into Illinois.

"If my company tells me that I have to drive over the borders and come back every day, I got to do that. I got to earn a living. I can't afford to take 14 days off every time I come back in the city,” said truck driver Jim Brown.

Wisconsin's COVID positivity rate is above 10%, which is about three-times the rate in Illinois.

Governor JB Pritzker says Illinois is surrounded by states with higher COVID numbers, which is hurting Illinois' ability to fight the infection.

Lightfoot also noted that Indiana, as of now, will not be added to the quarantine list.

The quarantine order, however, is voluntary and not being strictly enforced.

In addition, Illinois health officials on Monday reported 1,231 new cases and 18 additional deaths tied to the coronavirus.