Vikings sign 4, waive 4 after rookie minicamp

The Minnesota Vikings have signed four players and waived four player following the team’s rookie minicamp. The four players signed include Northern Illinois wide receiver Chad Beebe, Southern Illinois cornerback Craig James, UNLV fullback Johnny Stanton and Western Illinois linebacker Brett Taylor. 

The four additions to the 90-man roster will participate in upcoming offseason workouts in the coming weeks.

The four players waived by the Vikings include UTEP long-snapper Nick Dooley, Texas wide receiver Armanti Foreman, Tusculum defensive tackle Caushaud Lyonsand Auburn fullback Kamryn Pettway.

CHAD BEEBE: Beebe played in 44 games at Northern Illinois and led the team in 2017 with a 14.9 yards per reception average. The Buffalo, New York native totaled 64 receptions for 930 yards and 3 TDs during his collegiate career. He also contributed as a return man and ranks in the top-10 in program history in punt returns (48) and punt return yards (329). 

CRAIG JAMES: James finished out his college career at Southern Illinois, earning Mountain Valley Football Conference All-Newcomer Team honors in 2016, after two years at the University of Minnesota (2014-15). In 2017, he recorded two interceptions, a forced fumble and a fumble recovery while accumulating 37 total tackles. 

JOHNNY STANTON: Stanton, a quarterback in college, will transition to fullback with the Vikings. The Las Vegas native attended Nebraska out of high school before transferring to Saddleback College and eventually ending his career at UNLV. He earned junior college All-America honors while at Saddleback and helped the team to the California Community College Football Coaches Association State Championship game. 

BRETT TAYLOR: Taylor earned back-to-back All-American honors while finishing his career at Western Illinois and was named Phil Steele’s FCS Defensive Player of the Year. He led the Leathernecks with 162 total tackles in 2017 while racking up 13 TFL and 1.5 sacks.