Minnesota State Mavericks celebrate softball championship

The Mavericks softball team has officially brought home the program's first ever softball NCAA Division II Championship.

Minnesota State University - Mankato celebrated the team's historic win in downtown Mankato on the Grand Lawn in front of the Intergovernmental Center.

The team received a warm welcome as they carried in the trophy.

On Monday, the Mavericks sealed a 5-1 victory over Angelo State. They finished the year 64 - 7.

Junior Jess Meidl, junior Alyssa Rickels, freshman Carly Esselman, and sophomore McKenzie Paap were named to the 2017 Division II All-Tournament Team. Senior pitcher Coley Ries was named the Most Outstanding Player.