Tornado watch issued for Twin Cities metro area

The National Weather Service has placed the Twin Cities metro area and several adjacent counties under a tornado watch until 1:00 a.m. Monday morning.

The announcement affects 34 counties in the state and includes the cities of Albert Lea, Minneapolis, St. Paul, St. Cloud, Red Wing, Mankato and Stillwater, among others. 

Heavy winds, lime-sized hail and tornadoes are all possible as a result of the severe weather system that is expected to hit the Twin Cities metro area Sunday evening around dusk.