Governor declares state of peacetime emergency due to flooding

Image 1 of 2

In the wake of severe flooding that hit Minnesota, Governor Mark Dayton signed an emergency executive order, declaring a state of peacetime emergency for southern parts of the state.

Heavy rains, which started on Sept. 21, caused flooding and damaged houses and other buildings, both public and public properties. 

The counties included in the Governor's order include: Anoka, Blue Earth, Cottonwood, Dodge, Faribault, Fillmore, Freeborn, Goodhue, Hennepin, Houston, Le Sueur, Mower, Nicollet, Olmsted, Ramsey, Rice, Scott, Sibley, Steele, Wabasha, Waseca, Washington, and Winona.

The Department of Public Safety, Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Management will continue to help those affected by the flooding.