Minnesota election results roundup: Midterms 2018

It was an Election Night full of change in Minnesota. Rep. Tim Walz (DFL) was elected governor, his Lt. Gov. Peggy Flanagan became the highest ranking indigenous woman to hold public office, State Rep. Ilhan Omar became the first Somali-American refugee elected to Congress and several congressional races flipped seats. In the State Legislature, Democrats took control of the Minnesota House with a sweep of the suburbs and Republicans maintained control of the Minnesota Senate with a special election victory in central Minnesota's District 13. Here's a look at the results:

App users, view results here


Tim Walz has been elected the next governor of Minnesota. Walz is a Democratic congressman representing Minnesota's 1st Congressional District. Walz defeated Republican Jeff Johnson, a Hennepin County Commissioner who challenged Gov. Mark Dayton in the last election.

"Hello, One Minnesota! Our democracy is strong tonight," Walz said in his victory speech.

Lieutenant Governor-elect Peggy Flanagan is the first Native American to hold the office in Minnesota and now holds the highest-ranking indigenous woman to hold public office.

"Growing up I never saw someone like me in a position of leadership," Flanagan said, taking the stage before Walz.


In Wisconsin, Democratic challenger Tony Evers has defeated Republican incumbent Gov. Scott Walker, however Walker has not yet conceded. Unofficial results show Evers beat Walker by about 29,000 votes, or just over one percentage point, out of more than 2.6 million votes cast. State law only permits recounts for losing candidates who are within one percentage point.


Sen. Tina Smith, a Democrat appointed to the Senate by Gov. Dayton following the resignation of Al Franken, has won the election to finish Franken's term. Smith was challenged by Republican Karin Housley, a member of the Minnesota State Senate, representing District 39 (Stillwater). Smith's term will finish in January 2021.

"When I started ten months ago I said I should not be underestimated," Smith told the crowd at the Minnesota DFL election night party.

Immediately after polls closed at 8 p.m., Sen. Amy Klobuchar was declared the winner of her re-election bid, defeating Trump-endorsed Republican State Rep. Jim Newberger. Minnesota is one of four states now represented by two female U.S. senators.


1ST TOO CLOSE TO CALL: Minnesota's 1st District is still too close to call. Republican Jim Hagedorn and Democrat Dan Feehan are neck in neck with just a few hundred votes separating them. This race will likely result in a recount. Democrats were hoping to keep this seat blue. It's currently held by Rep. Tim Walz, who won his bid for Minnesota governor.

PHILLIPS FLIPS CD-3: Dean Phillips has defeated Rep. Erik Paulsen in Minnesota's 3rd District, flipping a U.S. House seat from Republican to Democrat. The 3rd District was Minnesota's most expensive House race.

"We came up short," Paulsen told the crowd at the Minnesota GOP election night party. Paulsen added that he called Phillips to congratulate him on the win and ensure a smooth transition.

ILHAN OMAR MAKES HISTORY: State Rep. Ilhan Omar is the first Somali-American elected to Congress, winning Minnesota's 5th District. Omar will succeed Rep. Keith Ellison, who is running for Minnesota attorney general. Ellison made history himself when he was the first Muslim elected to Congress in 2006. 

EMMER KEEPS SEAT: Congressman Tom Emmer was re-elected for his seat in the U.S. House Sixth Congressional District. Emmer defeated challenger Ian Todd.

CRAIG WINS REMATCH: Democrat Angie Craig has defeated incumbent Republican U.S. Rep. Jason Lewis to win election to Minnesota's 2nd Congressional District. This election was a rematch from 2016, when Lewis beat Craig in a close race. 

MCCOLLUM RE-ELECTED: DFL U.S. Rep. Betty McCollum has won re-election to the U.S. House of Representatives, defeating Republican challenger Greg Ryan. The seat has been solidly blue, as a Democrat has held the seat for the past 69 years.

PETERSON WINS AGAIN: U.S. Rep. Collin Peterson defeated Dave Hughes in the second consecutive cycle to keep hold of a seat he has held since 1991. Peterson managed to hold onto his seat in a District that has become more conservative in recent years. 

CD-8 GOES RED: Democrat Rick Nolan's retirement left an open seat for the Eighth Congressional District. Republican Pete Stauber took home the victory over Democrat Joe Radinovich. Republicans viewed Minnesota's 8th District as one of their best pick-up opportunities in the entire country. President Donald Trump won the 8th District by 15 points in 2016.

With Rep. Tim Walz running for governor, the 1st District has Republican Jim Hagedorn facing Democrat Dan Feehan. Hagedorn challenged Walz in both 2014 and 2016.


Rep. Keith Ellison has been elected Minnesota attorney general, defeating Republican Doug Wardlow. Ellison's faced allegations of domestic abuse from an ex-girlfriend during the campaign. Ellison was the first Muslim elected to Congress in 2006 and became deputy chairman of the Democratic National Committee. He ran on a platform of using the attorney general's office to fight President Trump's agenda.


DEMS TAKE BACK HOUSE: Minnesota House Speaker Kurt Daudt has conceded that Democrats will take control of the House for the first time since 2014. Daudt told the Associated Press that Republicans will lose the majority after Democrats flipped more than a dozen suburban districts. View complete results for all House races

GOP KEEPS SENATE: Republicans secured a big victory in Senate, winning a special election in central Minnesota’s District 13 to keep control of the chamber. State Rep. Jeff Howe beat Democrat Joe Perske to help Republican maintain a 34-33 majority in the Minnesota Senate.


With all precincts reporting, unofficial results show Dave Hutch will be the new Hennepin County sheriff, unseating Sheriff Rich Stanek who has held the position since his 2006 win. In Ramsey County, the new sheriff is the old sheriff, with Bob Fletcher defeating Sheriff Jack Serier 52.77 percent to 46.56 percent. Fletcher was Ramey County sheriff for 16 years and is currently the mayor of Vadnais Heights.


Minneapolis voters faced a ballot question asking if they wanted to remove a section of the city charter that gives the State Legislature control over liquor license applications. Currently, only Minneapolis restaurants within about seven acres of downtown can serve liquor. The voters spoke, and now the restrictions regarding where in the city liquor can be served will be lifted and all restaurant across Minneapolis can apply for a license to sell liquor. 


Both Minneapolis and St. Paul Public Schools will be getting some extra money next year. Voters in Minneapolis passed two referendums that the district says will increase funding by $30 million. St. Paul voters agreed to a property tax increase that will increase annual school spending by $475 per student.