Thank you from Dakota County sheriff and 11 police chiefs

- Dakota County Sheriff Tim Leslie and the police chiefs representing 11 departments in the county have published a thank you letter to the community for their ongoing support.

On behalf of the Dakota County Chiefs of Police Association and its law enforcement family, we would like to thank the people of Dakota County for their ongoing support of our officers.

The outpouring of gifts – including food, flowers, and kind words – over the last several weeks has been positively overwhelming, encouraging, and a beautiful reminder of what drew us all to the public safety profession.

From cookies to gift cards, from hand-written notes to handshakes on the street, the people in our cities and townships across the county have warmly and generously expressed their appreciation for the work we do. We cannot thank them enough.

We are here to protect and serve our communities – and we love what we do. Now more than ever, we need to come together to foster relationships that build trust and understanding in our communities.
We invite and encourage each and every one of you to join us on Tuesday, August 2nd, for the annual National Night Out/Night to Unite events throughout Dakota County. We will try to meet and mingle with as many of you as we can!

The tragic events of the past few weeks do not need to define us. Together, we can keep our communities safe.

Chief Jon Rechtzigel, Apple Valley Police
Chief Eric Gieseke, Burnsville Police
Dakota County Sheriff Tim Leslie
Chief James McDonald, Eagan Police
Chief Brian Lindquist, Farmington Police
Chief Bryan Schafer, Hastings Police
Acting Chief Sean Folmar, Inver Grove Heights Police
Chief Jeff Long, Lakeville Police
Chief Mike Aschenbrener, Mendota Heights Police
Chief Mitch Scott, Rosemount Police
Chief Bill Messerich, South St. Paul Police
Chief Bud Shaver, West St. Paul Police

Up Next:

  • Popular

  • Recent

Stories you may be interested in – includes advertiser stories