Decorating with shells

I try to use natural elements whenever possible in my home, from plants to framed insects to rocks - whatever Mother Nature dreams up brings a sense of wonder and conversation - this is the case with shells. 

I recall as a young boy my mother having a large conch shell on our coffee table and just being amazed at the fact that it was created in nature, not to mention that I would pick it up and put it next to my ear to hear the ocean - all the way in Minnesota. 

What is great about adding shells to your home is that they add an organic, textural element - which works in any type of home. The good news is that adding shells to a room is within anyone's budget, they are very affordable.

I find beautiful, one-of-a-kind shells at www.SeashellSupply.com 

Some shells are great on their own, due to their size - making a fantastic statement on a table, placed atop a stack of books or even used as a paperweight such as:

Carribbean Triton Seashell - $39, www.seashellsupply.com/large-caribbean-triton-seashell-9-10-charonia-tritonis/

Bullmouth Helmut Seashell - $24, www.seashellsupply.com/bullmouth-helmet-seashell-5-6-cassis-rufa/

Romose Murex Seashell - $11, www.seashellsupply.com/bullmouth-helmet-seashell-5-6-cassis-rufa/

Chambered Nautilus - $23, www.seashellsupply.com/natural-nautilus-seashell-5-6-nautilus-pompilius/

Chambered Nautilus, half - $23, www.seashllsupply.com/sliced-pearl-nautilus-seashell-6-7-nautilus-pompilius/

Abalone Seashell - $12, www.seashellsupply.com/green-abalone-seashell-6-7-haliotis-fulgens/

Some shells, although placed alone are nice, also look good grouped together on a table, in a compote or even framed separately or in a grouping such as:

Imperial Volute - $11, www.seashellsupply.com/imperial-volute-seashell-3-5-voluta-imperialis/

Noble Volute - $11, www.seashellsupply.com/marlinspike-auger-seashell-5-7-terebra-maculata/

Lightening Whelk - $4.50, www.seashellsupply.com/lightning-whelk-4-6-busycon-contrarium/

Marlinspike Auger - $4.00, www.seashellsupply.com/marlinspike-auger-seashell-5-7-terebra-maculata/

Striped Fox - $8 - www.seashellsupply.com/striped-fox-shell-6-7-fasciolaria-trapezium/

Striped Tun - $5 - www.seashellsupply.com/striped-tun-seashell-4-5-tonna-sulcosa/

Up Next:


  • Popular

  • Recent

Stories you may be interested in – includes advertiser stories