American Idol ending after 15 seasons on FOX

American Idol will be ending after Season 15 discovers the show's final pop star, Fox Television executives confirmed Monday morning. Ryan Seacrest, Keith Urban, Jennifer Lopez and Harry Connick, Jr. will all return for the final season of Idol, beginning January 2016 on FOX.

The announcement was made official by Dana Walden and Gary Newman, chairmen and CEOs of Fox Television Group, as they unveiled the FOX primetime slate during the network's annual programming presentation at the Beacon Theatre in New York.

The final season will pay special tribute to the past 14 seasons of contestants.

American Idol winners

Season 1 – Kelly Clarkson

Season 2 – Ruben Studdard

Season 3 – Fantasia Barrino

Season 4 – Carrie Underwood

Season 5- Taylor Hicks

Season 6 – Jordin Sparks

Season 7 – David Cook

Season 8 – Kris Allen

Season 9 – Lee DeWyze

Season 10 – Scotty McCreery

Season 11 – Phillip Phillips

Season 12 – Candice Glover

Season 13 – Caleb Johnson

Season 14 – Finalists Clark Beckham, Jax Cole, Nick Fradiani

Up Next:

  • Popular

  • Recent

Stories you may be interested in – includes advertiser stories